Skip to content

All Good Things Must Come To An End

April 12, 2013

Finally, I’m saying goodbye to this blog, GabbingwithGraceReviews.com.  I’ve noticed lately that anytime someone subscribes via WordPress to my primary blog, GabbingwithGrace.com it signs you up here at this old reviews blog…where I never update.

If you’ve recently subscribed here but thought you were getting GabbingwithGrace.com, you can re-subscribe here for my up-to-date posts & quarterly-ish newsletter with exclusive giveaways.

It’s been a hoot! See you over at GabbingwithGrace.com.  Here is exactly where the GwG blog is headed for 2013!

xo,

grace

The Truman Show

June 2, 2012

I watched The Truman Show tonight while I was pretending to get some work done.

A line stuck out to me: “If Truman wanted to get out, he would.  But he won’t because we all accept the reality we have been given.”

And it’s true, we do until we know we don’t have to.

I was chatting it up the other day with a friend as we were reminiscing about nights in the clubs WAY back in the day.  There would be chants where the girls would say horrible things to the dudes followed by the dudes saying horrible things to the ladies.

(I was half-tempted to include it but once I typed it out and realized how vulgar it is, even I couldn’t do it).

And we thought this was fun.

At that time, at that moment in reality, it was fun to me.

It was the reality I accepted.  It was the reality given to me, that I trusted and dare I say, cherished?

Now, it’s a reality that disgusts me.  I was okay being called a b*tch and a hoe…all in the name of fun!?!?

Ugh.

At some point I realized, much like Truman did that the reality being presented to me was just not good enough.  (Or that I was finally good enough to not need it).

In April of 1996, I allowed my faith in Jesus to make a meaningful impact on my behaviors.  Everything changed.

Nowadays, I fight not to accept any reality because someone tells me it “has to be this way.”

Nope, I’m not having it.

I’ve had far too many people who were supposed to love me do the exact opposite for me to trust anyone who tells me to lay down and shut up.  Those days are so far gone, thank the Lord.

I’m not looking to make folks feel comfortable with my behavior.  I’m not allowing anyone to shove me in a box for whatever gain it brings them.  Sorry.  I don’t accept that reality, at all. 

No one can force feed you or I to live in a way that imprisons us for others benefit and then tout it as “love,” or “concern.”

That’s some bull.

So.  If you need to escape.  Do it!  Do not accept the reality you’ve been given because you think you need to to make someone else happy.

Take control of your destiny.

With the Lord’s help, I am too.

We can’t even begin to fathom what the Lord has for us if we would just cooperate for crying out loud.

-g

 

Tangled Blue-Ray DVD Giveaway =) + some other booty. =)

March 31, 2011

For all you Tangled-lovin’ fans I am super excited to host a giveaway of the Blue-Ray DVD + some other booty.  The flick stars Mandy Moore (A Walk To Remember, Saved!) and Zachary Levi (Chuck).

I am so excited to see this movie for myself.  Having two boys, 5 & 1 with a “very manly Daddy,” means they weren’t all eager to rush out and see it.  I am convinced though my 5.5 yr. old, “R1” is going to love it.

Rapunzel (played by Mandy Moore). is a young girl hidden away from the world by her overprotective mother, Gothel.  Rapunzel dreams of discovering what the world holds, when suddenly Flynn Ryder (Zachary Levi), a caddish drifter stumbles into her life.  They strike a deal and Flynn agrees to lead her through the forest and find the hidden strength she never knew.

Winners of this giveaway will win the Tangled Blue-Ray DVD + a bonus prize picked at random from the following things:

  • A Pascal Beanie Baby
  • Flynn Ryder T-Shirts
  • Rapunzel T-Shirts
  • Official Disney Paper Lanterns

Want more? CLICK ON THIS WIDGET TO GO TO THE INTERACTIVE ONE!!!

* Play Tangled Talents. You can discover talents you may not have known you have! Whether you are an aspiring artist, chef, or just feeling crafty, Rapunzel will lead the way as you find your own hidden abilities.  R1 loved this!
* Decorating Tips by Designer Claire Keane! Claire Keane, daughter of Tangled director and animator Glen Keane, will share tips on how to decorate your room just like Rapunzel’s including a time lapse video of Claire painting a mural!

Let the games begin.  In order to win, share your new found talents OR answer the following question based on the preview…

What three words does Rapunzel say while she’s swinging around the tree?

*GIVEAWAY ENDS APRIL 4, 2011 ~ 12AM EST*

Later Gators!

*Sponsored by DBA West*

The 5th Quarter –A Giveaway! =)

March 23, 2011

Movie Time! =)

The 5th Quarter comes out March 25th.

Based on a true story, The 5th Quarter (starring Andie MacDowell, Aidan Quinn & Ryan Merriman) carries a powerful message of triumph over tragedy. After the tragic death of his 15 year old brother Luke, Wake Forest’s football player Jon Abbate helps lead his team in their most inspiring football season. The movie is inspirational story about the life-and-death consequences of reckless driving and the life-saving gift of organ donation.

I’ll be doing a phone interview with parents Steven & Maryanne Abbate & will update you with the story!

The Giveaway:

A pair of FREE of movie tickets. (Sorry but, tickets are available only in: Florida • Georgia • North Carolina • South Carolina • Tennessee • Virginia).

A FREE signed poster from up and coming star Ryan Marriman (Pretty Little Liars) and The 5th Quarter’s Director Rick Bieber.

In order to enter the giveaway, just leave me a comment (here, not on facebook) about how reckless driving &/or organ donation has affected you personally.  Are you an organ donor, why or why not?


Personally, I decided to be a heart donor after seeing the movie Seven Pounds. (My review here). (Fantastic Movie —LOVED it)!  To donate, I signed up online -easy peazy- and they sent me a little sticker that goes on my drivers license so that if I’m in a crash they can keep my heart beating before giving it to someone else.

As for reckless driving.  A HORRIBLE accident involving 4 teen-aged boys almost took my husband.  He was 17 at the time, and still suffers 24 hrs. a day with neck, back and muscle pain.

How about you?  I’m hoping not at all.  Just let me know for a chance to win!  Also, please note your state. If your not in one of the states where tickets are given away, you can still enter for the signed poster.

WordPress Widget Code: http://partnershub.com/widgets/5th-quarter/

*Sponsored by DBA West*

And the winners are…

February 10, 2011

1.  The winner of Katherine Heigl’s Life As We Know It Blue-Ray DVD Combo + Soundtrack is Tim R & The Mom with Moxie. Congrats!

2.  The winners of the iPad/iPod iCrayon maker are 1) Kathy from More than Serving Tea 2) Canadian Chick from Bento Lunch 3) Kristy M 4) Amy W & 5) Jenni B – Have fun! =)

3.  The winner of the fabulous tie from tiecoon.com was Phil B-D.  Look bad wit yo bad self! =)

Keep comin’ back!  I have many giveaways comin’ up soon!

 

Fun ipad/ipod app for the kiddos: iCrayon Maker + GIVEAWAY to FIVE lucky ducks! =)

February 9, 2011

This is a sponsored post in which I received a free ipad app to review through my partnership with Business 2 Blogger

R1 (my oldest boy and the sweetest 5 year old on the earth) got a new toy: a super fun ipad app called iCrayon Maker.

R1 loves art, so as soon I showed him the app he watched in amazement.  At one point he said, “wow Mama this is so awesome!”

In order to trick him into learning while having fun I told him to practice writing his name.  He sat there for a good 20 minutes just working on first and last name!

Here is why I love it:  It engages him with art, silent and solitary play that he enjoys.  I can see him enjoying this in our frequent long car trips to our hometown and my various work conferences.

I also love how simple it is for him to navigate: an easy delete button, an easy button to switch crayon color and an easy way to switch modes between crayon, maker & glitter.

The only problem is that his little wrist would hit the edge of the screen and lines would jut out on the side.  He got over it pretty quickly though! =)

What he loved to do was customize his crayon color by choosing a color swirling it around and creating his own custom color.  It’s sweet!

Next he made a picture for Grandma B which we emailed to her with the press of an ipad “button.”

R1 says “tada!” =)

Would you LOVE this iPad/iPod app for FREE?

Be one of the first 5 people to comment on this post!

5 Winners!

My interview with Katherine Heigl + a Life As We Know It BlueRay Combo & Soundtrack giveaway

February 1, 2011

Katherine, her hubby & daughter Naleigh (pronounced Nay-Lee)

Last Thursday, I was downright giddy about being on the phone with Katherine Heigl for a phone interview alongside some other lovely Mommy bloggers! You know the one right? From “27 Dresses,” & “Knocked Up”?!?!

(I’m from MI, y’all. Celebrity interaction = zero to none. Excitement over any brush with celebrity = hysteria).

Anyways!  I’m excited to share with you about the call, which is part of a giveaway I’m hosting for TWO lucky readers!  I’m giving away 2 Life As We Know It BlueRay DVD’s AND 2 Life As We Know It Soundtracks!

Read on, my friends…

Katherine was very sweet, very likable, very down-to-earth. Actually, -and I know I seem sort of lame and stalkerish for saying this but- I think we could be friends.

She is so much like me in one way:

We both can talk too much!

(At all the wrong times).

She laughed as she told us how she can be “too much of me,” and that she “doesn’t always sensor well”. She said, “it’s hard not to tell everyone everything about her.”

Same here!

(See, SO MUCH in common)

(Only I don’t have everyone dissecting my comments under a microscope & splashed about all over every gossip tabloid)

That was the 1st question, so right off the bat I was diggin’ her vulnerability.

The majority of the Mommy-Bloggers questions about new-Mommyhood were in line with her upcoming movie Life as We Know It.

It was flipping fantastic to hear Katherine articulate some of the exact same struggles I have…

~ Being at a place with your career where you want to keep momentum going. But then…

~ Knowing you need to compromise with your husband because you value his career his well. But then…

~ While your at work you long to be home with your family. But then…

~ While with your family you worry about what’s going on on set.

I’m not even kidding, she said these things. It’s normal everyday stuff all of us Mama’s go through.

(Except for that whole “on set” thing). =)

I agree with one of my friends, Lisa who says that the hardest job of all is not being a full-time stay at home, nor a full-time working Mom, but a part-time stay-at-home Mom & a part-time working Mom because it’s so hard to switch focus so abruptly. I agree, I agree, I agree.

I think Katherine would to!

Here she poses with her gorgeous adopted baby daughter Naleigh for the cover of W magazine’s The Family Issue. Katherine says she adopted Naleigh, who was born in Korea with congenital heart problem that was corrected through surgery, just “three or four days” before she starting filming Life As We Know It. “I was about to play a woman who inherits a baby, and I was experiencing the exact same thing,” she said.  Isn’t Naleigh the cutest???

Katherine said that earlier in life she had this “fantasy,” that she’d be able to “juggle it all,” but has realized that trying to do it “all,” has made her a “spinning top.” How DOES she do it then?

She leans on people. She’s learned to rely on her community and ask for help when she needs it. Here, here Katherine.

It so appreciated a lot of her thoughts about various things:

~Best parenting advice you got? Aside from basic needs, sometimes you just gotta let ’em cry. (Totally agree)!

~ Best parenting advice you give? Keep humor in parenting.

~ Favorite moments with Naleigh? Puts on my glasses upside down and dances. She looks like a little indie emo rocker, singer/songwriter.

~Favorite way to decompress? Apple TV, a little wine & lose myself in stories.

~ Favorite TV Shows? Sons of Anarchy, Gossip Girls, Pretty Little Liars, Life Unexpected & Cougar Town.

~ Top life lesson? Have a sense of humor, don’t take yourself so seriously & LAUGH at yourself as much as you can.

Lastly, how could I NOT bring up fashion after having written a whole post about this lovely Mother who also happens to be a red carpet fave of mine!

She’s a…

complete…

and total…

GLAMAZON!

Best part of the interview for me? The part where she said she can’t wait to check out all of our blogs! =)

OKAY, ARE YOU READY FOR THE GIVEAWAY???

I’m giving away the Life as We Know It Blue-Ray DVD Combo pack & the Life as We Know It Soundtrack to TWO lucky readers!

Here’s how to win:

1. Leave me a comment NOT HERE -on my this same post on my personal blog– about your favorite romantic comedy.

2. Tweet this giveaway & leave a second comment with the tweet URL.

The giveaway closes on February 8th at midnight!

The winners will be randomly selected by random.org

Finally, I’ll be hosting a Life as We Know It GIRLS NIGHT-IN at my house on February 25!

And guess who will be there?

Katherine Heigl!!!!

(just kidding, but I will be there and that should be good enough)! =)

If your in my neck of the woods, come on over! I’ll bring all the sugary foods we all want, plenty’o’popcorn, and you bring whatever choice beverage you love.

Thanks, Katherine for making this Mama’s day!